Lornbrook ewe clinches Balmoral title

After a slow start due to heavy rain the sun finally shone on the Charollais ring at Balmoral Show for the first major show of the season, with judge Russell Gray tapping out a ewe from Diane Christie’s Lornbrook flock. 

This Loanhead Ringleader daughter was described by the judge as a smart ewe that handled incredibly well. The day proved to be incredibly successful for the Lornbrook flock as they won a further three classes as well as the best group of three. 

Standing reserve champion having come through as winner of the male championship was a shearling ram from Alistair Moore. By Castellau One In A Million, he’s out of a Loanhead Scotch daughter and was described by the judge as “a ram with an excellent skin.” 

Diane Christie was also at the top of the line up in the shearling ewe class with a homebred ewe out of a Loanhead dam. 

Standing top of the line up in the ram lamb class was Graham Foster with Russell Gray describing it as having width of shoulder right through to back end. This homebred lamb is by Gwyndy Whizz Kidd. The Springhill flock also took top spot in the ewe lamb class with a Boyo bred lamb. 

Gallery of images to follow…..

Class Results 

Ram class – two shear and upwards 

1st Ms Diane Christie – 17ZHV6027

2nd Ms Diane Christie – 20ZNN32010

Shearling ram class 

1st Alistair Moore – 21 041124 01637

2nd Mrs Sheila Malcomson – 21B321068

3rd Ms Diane Christie – 21ZHV01629

Ram lamb class 

1st Mr Graham Foster – 22WLK06461

2nd Mr J Aiken – 22ZXJ01232

3rd Ms Diane Christie – 22ZHV01798

4th Ms Diane Christie – 22ZHV01799

5th Mr A Moore – 22VBK00961

6th Mr A Moore – 22VBK00907

Ewe class 

1st Ms Diane Christie – 18WNC22770

2nd Ms Diane Christie 

3rd Mr A Moore – 21 VBK 00664

Shearling ewe class 

1st Ms Diane Christie – 21ZHV01758

2nd Ms Diane Christie – 21ZHV01698

3rd Mr G Foster – 21WLK05743

4th Ms Diane Christie – 21ZHV01643

5th Mr A Moore – 21VBK00668

6th Mr A Moore 

Ewe lamb class

1st Mr G Foster – 22WLK06498

2nd Ms Diane Christie – 22ZHV01813

3rd Mr A Moore – 22VBK00905

4th Mr A Moore –  22VBK00908

5th Mrs Sheila Malcomson – 22YBX00856

6th Mr J Aiken – 22ZXJ01244

Perpetual Challenge Trophy – best group of three 

1st Special – Ram, shearling ewe and Ewe 

Ms Diane Christie 

2nd Reserve Special – Shearling ram, shearling ewe and ewe lamb  

Mr A Moore

Male Champion 

Mr A Moore – Shearling ram 

Reserve Male 

Ms Diane Christie – Ram 

Female Champion 

Ms Diane Christie – Ewe 

Reserve Female Champion 

Ms Diane Christie – Shearling ewe 


Ms Diane Christie – Ewe


Mr A Moore – Shearling ram